Little Self-Love Never Hurt

Instagram 

I have been seeing some girls dealing with bad relationships but still going back to those that hurt them and it’s a tough thing to see. While I understand that you may have a strong bond with someone and share memories and experiences, I believe that you have to look at what that person has done and the effect they’ve had on you to really observe the relationship and make the necessary changes.

I wanted to share a few self-love remedies that I use when I’m feeling down that really help me to pick myself up and start fresh.

1. Journal

Being a journalism major, I obviously love writing and I find it therapeutic. I just write down whatever is bothering me but, most importantly, how I can fix the problem. Writing down my thoughts helps me to collect them and process how I’m feeling.

journal

https://www.theodysseyonline.com/should-journal

2. Hygiene

This is probably the most “hippie” thing I’ll ever say but I really feel like taking a bath, using a face-mask or washing your face when you’re upset feels like you’re washing away the negativity. It’s relaxing to take a bath and can really give you that alone time to think everything through. Washing your face or using a face-mask will not only clear your skin but will give you a fresh face and fresh attitude to start over. I use a face-mask every morning and it always makes me feel better and ready to start my day. Try it!

face mask

http://www.health.com/health/gallery/0,,20702296,00.html

3. Eat Right

Of course we should all be eating healthy foods but I find that when I’m feeling really down, to go for a healthy snack. There’s a cliche that women go for ice cream and chocolate when we’re upset which is sometimes true, but that can be really bad for your health and skin so I try to avoid that. I love avocados, cucumber sandwiches and carrots, but even having some strawberries or making yourself a fruity smoothie can be a good distraction from your problems, with a healthy end result!

fruit

http://www.newfoundbalance.com/fruits-and-vegetables-getting-to-the-root-of-the-problem/

4. Exercise

I wouldn’t say I love exercising but I definitely feel better after I’ve gone on a bike ride or lifted weights. It releases endorphins which release a positive chemical to your brain that will make you feel happier. You don’t have to kill yourself in a workout if you are feeling stressed, although kickboxing could help if you’re feeling angry ;). A long walk is really helpful to get fresh air and process your thoughts.

walking

http://www.cookinglight.com/healthy-living/fitness/better-fitness-walk

It’s all about giving yourself time to process how you’re feeling. I, personally, don’t think distracting yourself from your issues is a good way to solve a problem. Give yourself some time to come to a conlusion that will make you happy. I hope these little remedies help you or someone you know as they really help me when I’m feeling stressed! Think happy and make today a great day!

Leave a Reply

